#oneword 2020

“If we as teachers, along with our colleagues, are not happy, how can we expect the children to be happy?”  -Thich Nhat Hanh

I have been doing a lot of reflecting this year on my #oneword and had some difficulty coming up with just one word or focus.  After doing some personal reading and reflection, I finally decided on a #oneword for 2020: Mindfulness.

One of the books I am reading that inspired my #oneword is Happy Teachers Change the World by Thich Nhat Hanh and Katherine Weare. In the book, Thich Nhat Hanh refers to the practise of mindfulness as a “practise of Joy”.  The book goes on to describe how in schools it can be seen as a mental training and education. We spend a great deal of time focusing on physical education and exercising our bodies while mindfulness looks at strengthening the muscle of the mind.

Image result for mindfulness quotes

 

Back in the fall, I was lucky to have the opportunity to attend a workshop on mindfulness at the Ontario School Counsellors’ Association Conference by Heidi Bornstein and Angela Ventrice on Mindfulness in the Guidance Office.  The facilitators described Mindfulness as “awareness that arises from paying attention to our lives, in the here and now, with kindness and curiosity, so we can choose our behaviour.” The workshop provided me with an understanding of how mindfulness promoted positive health and well being in the school system and the research to support this.

This year, I am hoping to continue to develop my own mindfulness practise by continuing to read and educate myself. I hope to continue to develop my meditation practise and I will continue to use the Calm App to help me to keep to a schedule. I will also continue to incorporate lessons in mindfulness on wellness and social emotional learning, which I have found to be extremely beneficial with students.  Mindfulness has been found to help increase concentration and improve communication and cultivate a learning environment that is compassionate and understanding. What is your one word? Have you used practises in mindfulness in your own teaching or personal life? I would love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *