My #oneword for 2018

I have been giving a lot of thought to my #oneword for 2018 and decided my #oneword is  Presence. As teachers, our minds are constantly making decisions and choices. Now factor in the role of being a mother to two young children and that adds to the monkey mind—a Buddhist term meaning unsettled or restless. Over the last couple of years, I have been working on being quiet in my mind and meditating. Due to my focus on student wellness, I have even tried it with my grade 3 students. While meditation is not something all students seem to enjoy, many have commented on its benefits and how much they enjoy it and I add myself to this group. For myself, however, it is one of the most challenging things I have ever done. I enjoy busyness, action, moving and doing things. I enjoy fast-paced environments and challenging myself, but I also recognize the need to stop and turn everything off and how much better I feel afterwards.

As a result, my word is presence to try to give to those I meet (student, parents, colleagues, strangers) in 2018 my full attention and to be present to what they are saying. To really listen with my heart with compassion and empathy: To not judge and to instead try to really understand what it is someone is trying to tell me. I have been reading one of my favourite books to my son each night entitled The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho and I came across this great passage last night which fit perfectly:

“The secret is here in the present. If you pay attention to the present, you can improve upon it. And, if you improve on the present, what comes later will also be better. Forget about the future, and live each day according to the teachings, confident that God loves his children. Each day, in itself, brings with it eternity.” (Coelho, 104).

What’s your #oneword? I would love to hear your thoughts as always.

Happy New Year to my #PLN who pushes me to be a bit better everyday and challenges my thinking in new ways. I am, as always grateful, for you all. Wishing you and the world more peace, good health and happiness in 2018.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *